World Series Game 3 – San Francisco @ Texas – 10/30/10

One of my biggest dreams was coming true on this day as I’d be attending my first ever World Series game. It was something I had always wanted to do growing up. After watching series such as the Arizona vs. New York and the Florida vs. New York World Series I always wanted to revel in and watch my own team compete for the most prestigious prize in Major League Baseball. So many emotions were running through me that day as I could not wait to get to Rangers Ballpark in Arlington. I wanted to buy souvenirs, try and get a ball from batting practice, walk around the stadium and enjoy the sights and sounds, and much much more!

Once we got into the stadium I went into center field trying my luck at batting practice. Nothing came close in center field while I was out there but I did get some good action shots. Here was a shot of the man who started the first ever World Series game in Rangers history just a few days prior in San Francisco – Cliff Lee:

P1030873

And here was a shot from my view point in center:

P1030875

When I bought tickets to go to Game 3 & 4 the only tickets that were available directly through the team was Standing Room Only. I had never attended any type of event with SRO tickets but I wasn’t going to pass up the opportunity to attend the World Series for only $50 a ticket! Sure I’d like to have had a seat but this was a once in a lifetime experience! I was having such a good time that I was ready for the game to start and hope the Rangers could earn their first ever World Series win after having been down 2-0 after leaving San Francisco.

Here was Colby Lewis throwing the first ever World Series pitch in Arlington:

P1030876

A shot of the scoreboard in one of it’s last games in it’s current technology. It would be updated in the off season to become a big HD scoreboard.

P1030880

Mitch Moreland put the Rangers on the board in the second inning absolutely crushing a homer to right field off of San Francisco starter to give the Rangers the 3-0 lead in what would be more than enough for victory on that night. Here is a good shot of the man who also went yard later on in the game – 2010 American League MVP Josh Hamilton.

P1030882

Colby Lewis pitched a good game for Texas going 7 2/3 innings giving up only two runs on six hits while striking out six. Both runs came from solo homers allowed to Cody Ross and Andres Torres in back to back innings (7th & 8th). My camera didn’t really cooperate too well with many photos but I’ll try and add in a few more from the game.

P1030895

The 2010 American League Rookie of the Year came on in the ninth inning trying to earn the save and give the Rangers the first ever World Series win in team history. Feliz would end up striking out Pat Burrell, getting Cody Ross to fly out, and as shown here striking out Juan Uribe.

P1030941

The team would be able to celebrate shortly after Feliz got Uribe to sit down and suddenly the series had a change of momentum. No longer down 2 games to none the Rangers were going to be able to test their luck the next night in Game 4.

P1030949

A good view of the final score thanks to the scoreboard in center.

P1030955

And finally before leaving the ballpark we stopped in center field to watch the ESPN Baseball Tonight crew go live on air near the bleachers.

P1030965

World Series Game 3 Stats

Texas Rangers 4, San Francisco Giants 2

W – Colby Lewis (1-0)
L – Jonathan Sanchez (0-1)
S – Neftali Feliz (1)

Leave a Reply

